5 star rating
4/17/2011

My fiance and I had Patrick appraise my e-ring yesterday and the experience could not have been better! He was super friendly and
knowledgeable and he allowed us to be involved in the entire process (it is a "while you watch" appraisal). He explained everything he was
doing and why he was doing it, let us view our diamond with all of his tools so we could see exactly what he was talking about, and he was
patient in answering all of our questions. We walked out of there feeling even more excited about our diamond. :) It was an overall
wonderful experience! Without hesitation, I highly recommend Patrick Davis!


Yelp Review
5 star rating
2/28/2010

I am newly engaged and needed a professional, independent appraisal of my ring for the insurance company. I searched high and low
and finally decided on Patrick based on reviews and qualifications.

His office is located right off the 405 freeway in a two story office building in Culver City. The appraisal is done behind closed doors in
case there is someone (and there was) waiting in the lobby. There are also cameras in his office which made me happy.

The process started with a little education about basics of a diamond. The ring is always kept in plain sight and handled with care. Patrick
went over the measurements, clarity, cut, color, size and specs all without seeing the GIA certificate. This is done to ensure you have the
same diamond that you paid for! Every detail matched up. We were definitely more educated after the appraisal and felt comfortable with
the process.

You need to have your engagement ring independently appraised. Getting the appraisal from the jeweler you  bought it from is a conflict
of interest.

Patrick is professional, friendly, and very informative. Two thumbs up!


Yelp Review
5 star rating
8/28/2010
I found Patrick based on other YELP reviews.  What can I say, he exceeded my expectations!  
My fiance and I were recently engaged and we wanted the ring appraised by someone other than where we made the purchase.  I actually
requested Patrick to do a "blind" appraisal where he could not see the diamond report.  I was nervous it wasn't the same diamond.  But
Patrick confirmed all the measurements to the exact numbers on the GIA certificate.  Needless to say, I was very relieved and very
impressed with Patrick's expertise.  He was professional and easy to talk to and walked us through the entire appraisal, step by step.  He
explained everything he was doing and even taught us a few things.  

I would highly recommend Patrick Davis for his appraisal services.


Yelp Review         
5 star rating
2/8/2011
Its pretty scary, this diamond thing. For someone who doesn't know anything about diamonds, and suddenly has to go out and have a
family heirloom appraised, cleaned, and resized, (with family members telling you "don't let that rock out of your sight, there are criminals
in this business who will swap the stone"), its a bit overwhelming. Oh, and add on to that the fact that you're going to give this ring to
someone you want to spend the rest of your life with.

I needed an appraisal, and I needed it fast. I found Patrick on google of all places, and I could not have been happier with the results. He
understood I had a small window to sneak out and get this appraisal, and he saw me with less than 24 hours notice. He was a pro all the
way. He walked me through the process, and did everything right in front of me. By the end of my appointment, I not only had a very
detailed appraisal that can be used for insurance and declaration of value, but I had a better understanding of why the ring was valued as
it was.


Yelp Review   
5 star rating
1/22/2011
Note: This is my Fiancee's account. I am writing this from my point of view (I'm a dude) based on our experience.

Summary: Patrick will be my go-to guy for all jewelry appraisals for life, or until I move out of LA. I may even consider still making a trip to
him even if I move out of LA. He's that good.

Long version:

Obviously when purchasing expensive jewelry you want to dot all your i's and cross all your t's when it comes to having no stone (pun
intended) unturned.

In my case, I had just recently purchased a fairly expensive loose diamond. Not trusting the seller's (who is a major, reputable online
diamond merchant, mind you) or taking anything for granted, I wanted professional verification of what I actually purchased, as well as
documentation to take to my insurance as proof of value. It isn't so much that I was distrusting the diamond merchant, it was more that I
just didn't want to bet 5 figures on it, if you know what I mean.

When looking around online on yelp and pricescope, I realized Patrick was the guy. We made an appointment soon after.

His office is located in a shared building on the second floor. It has a waiting area and the office/lab where he does the work is separated
by a door, nice for privacy in case there was another party waiting. A huge plus is that he does the work as you watch, is happy to field
any and many questions and thoroughly explains what he is looking for, facts about the gem, and what he is doing. I think it is probably
not uncommon for lots of people to have a bit of anxiety through the diamond purchasing process (especially if it is loose, I suspect), and
he is well aware of this, taking extra care to let you see the diamond or piece at all times and not moving or working in a way that makes
you feel uncomfortable. This was a total win in my book.

After a thorough but quick analysis of the stone using all of his neat tools, he jotted down basic notes about it and had me compare it to
the GIA cert which I was holding in my hand. That touch was neat - kind of felt like a game show, but I had all the answers.

Needless to say, he was in agreement with almost all points of the GIA cert (for example, let say my GIA said "48%, he might say 47%),
which was a good feeling. As I understand it, there is a fair amount of subjectivity of GIA and other institutional ratings due to the fact that
it is done by humans and not machines, so there might be some variance even between two GIA inspectors.... but I digress. The point is
that he may not hit everything exactly as your cert says (to the T), but he will be as close as you could hope to be (assuming your docs
are legit, of course).

After the appraisal, I gladly paid and received an invoice. I didn't leave that day with the appraisal as he explained it would take a couple
business days to complete, and he would mail me the original report plus a copy to send to my insurance company.

A few days later, a neat package came in the mail, providing pretty much all the info found on the GIA cert, but from his independent
analysis (which is obviously the point). Sweet. Sent the copy to my insurance and now I sleep at night knowing that my sometimes
clumsy/forgetful/absentminded/lovely/etc/etc fiancée has her E-ring covered, both with insurance and a rock solid appraisal.

Took it back after it was mounted in a custom setting (completely custom, you wouldn't be able to buy this design anywhere, muahhaha,
more on this in a review of Philip Press) as well. I thought this might be a bit hard to do because it was a custom piece, but he had no
problem finding all the component parts, their quality (F, VS1, etc. - had like 86 small teeny diamonds, he got all that, down to that level),
figured out weight of the band, crunched some numbers and used factors to determine a fair value.

Something else I left out that was nice to know as a result of his work was that he is able to tell you what the wholesale price of your
stone/piece would be, and how much is an expected markup based on store type (Online, Downtown Diamond District, Wholesalers, the
joints on Rodeo, and everything in between) as well as prestige of your designer. This was nice to compare to your actual purchase price
as it validates your hard work, and it lets you know how much you paid in mark-up and name brand, etc.

As of writing this review I am waiting for the fully mounted appraisal in the mail, but am confident it will be consistent with the level of quality
work I had seen with the loose stone.

Rock on, Patrick!

(ok, that pun was not intended...)



Yelp Review   
5 star rating
2/17/2010
I took my engagement ring in to be appraised for insurance purposes today.  Patrick was very friendly and professional.  I really liked that
he made sure to explain things in an accessible manner and went over what went into his appraisal.  I took in a vintage ring and he was
very knowledgeable about how to figure out the date of origin for both the stone and the setting



Yelp Review   
5 star rating
1/2/2011

I called a number of Jewelry appraisers and visited with one of them and Patrick was head and shoulders above all of them.  He was so
knowledgeable and nice and made me feel at ease as he explained the appraisal process.  Everything was done right in front of me which
was a prerequisite for me in searching fro a reputable appraiser.  I would recommend Patrick to anyone needing the services of a
professional jewelry appraiser.



Yelp Review   
5 star rating
7/9/2010
Definite 5 stars. If you need a reliable and very capable jewelry appraiser, this is the place.  Patrick is very personable and extremely
knowledgeable.  He is the second appraiser I met with and he was infinitely better in every way.   Meeting with him was like attending a
gemology class on diamonds!  I left with all my questions answered and complete confidence in the value of my purchase.  He was
EXTREMELY thorough and accurate in his work.  While he inspected the diamond ring, I held the certificate myself to double check his
findings.  He was so close in his assessments that it was like he was reading the certificate himself.  He has numerous instruments to carry
out the review and walk you through each step as he sets up the equipment to review for yourself.  Can't say enough about Patrick.  
Thanks again.  You have a customer for life now.


Yelp Review   
5 star rating
12/14/2009
As everyone else said, Patrick is great.  I highly recommend his services.

Location:
His office is on the second floor of  the building on the south east corner of Washinton Blvd, and Sawtelle.  There is free parking in the
back.  For your security you have to ring the doorbell to gain access to the office.  The office is a small two room affair.  A reasonable
waiting area and simple office loaded with appraisal books and equipment.

My Experience:
I arrived right at my appointment time and maybe waited in the waiting room for 5 minutes for the prior client to finish up.  Patrick is very
talkative and friendly.  He explains everything that he is doing right in front of you.  If you are concerned he takes very good care to make
sure your diamond is never out of your sight.  I was involved in every step of the appraisal and felt very secure and confident in his
abilities at all times.

Special Notes:
Patrick is very aware of the new online diamond market and seems to cater his business to capture that clientele.  He is well aware of all
the major online players and discussion forums.  

Cost:
I had a loose diamond appraised which took about an hour and the fee was $100.  Patrick told me that if I bring it back set in the ring the
fee would only be $50.



Yelp Review   
User Rating 5 out of 5 stars
11/07/2008
I recently got my fiancées ring appraised by Patrick Davis at GemSecure and I couldn't have had a better experience. He is the nicest guy
and really takes the time to educate you on what exactly goes into the appraisal process. If you're like me, you spent more than your fair
share of time researching rings and diamonds until you were exhausted of all energy, time, patience, brain-power and most of your
savings. (They say that's just the beginning haha) It was nice to sit with Patrick and be assured that all my hard work had paid off and that
I had gotten what I paid for and some. He is extremely professional and educated when it comes to anything ring or diamond related and
kindly answers any and all questions you can throw at him.
As far as the fee, it is what to expect for a detailed appraisal ($100 for one item) and it takes about an hour, while you watch. When it's all
said and done you have an official, professional looking appraisal document with one copy to send along to your jewelry insurer of choice.
If you're even considering going to GemSecure...just do it, you won't regret.
-Jared


Yahoo Yellow Pages
User Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
by Diamonique
04/09/2006
Diamond Ring Appraisal: Me and my fiancé had our diamond ring appraised by Patrick Davis and the experience was great for both of us.
Very nice man and very knowledgeable and professional. We felt very comfortable with him and we liked that it was while you watch. We
highly recommend him if you need to get your jewelry appraised!
-Debbie



Pricescope Review
I went and got the diamond appraised by Patrick Davis.  As a side note, for anyone in the LA area, I highly recommend Patrick Davis.  He
should be a gemology professor.  He answered all my questions and made sure I saw the diamond under his microscope and other
scopes available.  I apparently got an amazing deal on the diamond, but there were several concerns raised from the appraisal.  First, the
color was an "E+" meaning it was almost an F.  Second, he noticed some light leakage without the use of a scope.  He said that while the
cut would qualify as "excellent" under the GIA, it certainly wasn't a hearts & arrows cut.  This coupled with the fact that the diamond has a
59% table percentage (I wanted 58% or less) has troubled me since the appraisal.
Thanks Again, Debbie



Pricescope Review
Very professional, very experienced, very nice, explains the whole process.  Its nice to find an consumer advocate to someone buying
jewelry..
-John Hauser



Paul Thompson Co.
As a fellow appraiser and associate I find Patrick to be one of the most professional and  experienced appraisers in the field.  He was the
head appraiser for many years at Paul Thompson Company Jewelers in Hancock Park
, California.
-Paul Thompson



Village Heights Jewelry Store, Los Angeles
06/21/2006
Patrick Davis has been appraising out our store for over 10 years and has been a consistent and accurate appraiser and asset to our
store.  I totally trust and respect his gemological knowledge.
- Lewis Effala - Village Heights



Yahoo Yellow Pages
User Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
by Pete
04/09/2008
Bought a new diamond and had it appraised by him. Thanks for the knowledge. I'M glad I didn't get ripped off.
-Jeff



Yahoo Yellow Pages
User Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
by florinemusic
05/19/2007
Thank you for the education: Very professional. Very nice guy. He explained the whole appraisal process to me. Made me feel very
comfortable because I was nervous that I didn't get a good deal on the ring I purchased. I know allot more about diamonds now. Thanks
again!
-Lisa



Yahoo Yellow Pages
Maximillian Y.
Playa Vista, CA
5 star rating
05/12/2008
Patrick Davis is the appraiser/ owner is great. I took my finance's diamond ring here for an appraisal. It was a very educational process
where Patrick walked me through each process of the appraisal. He talked through each part of what he was doing. The four C's, what he
was looking at. Then he described the exact method by which he calculated the wholesale value of the ring as well as retail value.
Having gone through this process... I think this makes me a more savvy shopper knowing what the average markup is for diamond rings
based on whether you buy it online, at the jewelry, at a brick and mortar store or at a high end luxury jewelry store.
I would feel very comfortable going back to Patrick for other appraisals.
-Maximilian


14 Karat Jewelry Store Beverly Hills
12/06/2007
Patrick is one of the best jewelry appraisers in the Los Angeles area.  We use patrick for most of our appraisal needs and have been very
happy with his services.
-Yossi - 14 karat Beverly Hills



Pricescope Review
I got my ring appraised/verified by Patrick Davis - Los Angeles area - very happy and good experience
Thank you,Tracey



Pricescope Review
Ok I had my diamond ring appraised by Patrick Davis - First, he will tell you BEFORE you buy to see if you are getting a fair deal. He does
not sell or broker diamonds and is an objective appraiser. If I had known, I would have called him with a couple of my favorite pics just to
check. One thing I didn't know is that there is a diamond "blue book" that lists prices by grade, so you know exactly if you are getting a
good deal or not.
Appraisal:
- professional, asks you to follow along on your GIA cert but does not want to look at it. He goes thru everything and explains as he goes.
Very educational.
- Totally reasonable rate.
- Verified my diamond and told me if I actually got a good deal or not, which I did (thanks James Allen & Pricescope)
- Very professional, takes about a casual hour. Highly recommend him.
-Todd



The Jackels Collection of Beverly Hills
4/12/2007
We use Patrick for many of our appraisal needs and have always been satisfied with his appraisals.  His appraisals or accurate and fair
and have been very helpful to us.
-Tom Jackels - The Jackels Collection



Yahoo Yellow Pages
User Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
by Sparkle
04/09/2007
Purchased a diamond online from bluenile and had Mr. Davis verify the diamond was what they said it was. Very happy with the process -
Thank you!
-Sparkle



Pricescope Review
I have a diamond with a "bruted" girdle. I just had it appraised by Patrick Davis (G.G ASA) in Los Angeles. (He was great by the way )
-Linda



Pricescope Review
It took me a few days to find a good appraiser in the Los Angeles/West LA area, and now I did and had my first visit with him, I wanted to
spread the good word.  His name is Patrick Davis, more info can be found on his site: http://www.jewelryappraiser.net/
I spent an hour with him this afternoon looking at an engagement ring I'd recently purchased. He's a very nice chap, clearly knows his stuff
- I was very impressed, despite my diamond already being set, he was able to read out to me every measurement, rating, reading, etc. he
was making and it match to a T everything on my GIA report without him ever seeing it. He educates you thoroughly on the process,
allowing you to stay and watch if you want, and showing you key things under the microscope. His rates are also very reasonable. Hope
this helps someone!
-Matt



Pricescope Review
I'm in LA and used Patrick Davis (from this website) and he was friendly, informative, and reasonably priced.
-David



Pricescope Review
Hi there, I had my diamond appraised by Patrick Davis in Culver city.  He was very professional and friendly, and he is a trusted member
of this forum.  I would definitely recommend him, he will give you good advice on your purchases.  He is the link to his website...  Hope that
helps.  
Thanks Debbie



Pricescope Review
We've used this appraiser a number of times and have been very happy with his services.
-Edison Family



Pricescope Review
Based on the reviews here, I decided to get my ring appraised by Patrick Davis. I was not disappointed! His fee is very
reasonable/competitive ($100) and you get a really nice document at the end. He only accepts cash or check. His office was a bit far for
me, but it was worth the drive to Culver City. I needed my appraisal faster than the normal 3-5 days for insurance purposes, and he was
nice enough to send me an electronic copy the next day. Definitely a thumbs up!
-Jeff



Pricescope Review
Kcoursolle and I have both used Patrick Davis - he is near Santa Monica.  ~$100   Super nice guy, likes to educate, shows you stuff under
the microscope, lets you check out his master set while he grades color, etc.   Here is a link.  His rates are on there too.  You make an
appt and go and watch him do it.   (He does have Saturday appts)
-Ted
Click Yelp to See our most recent reviews
Call Now (310) 821-1453